Calendar for the Secondary School Program

Stay in Touch: high school programs

Sign Up for 2019 Updates

Our 2019 program information will be online mid-fall. Join our email list, and we’ll contact you when the information is live.

Stay in Touch

Stay on top of important application and registration dates for the Secondary School Program. Visit the Admissions and Program Cost pages for more detailed information about application, financial aid, and registration policies.

2019 Program Dates

June 22–August 10, 2019

Important Dates for Applicants

Online application available
See admissions for required application materials

Mid-December
Application Deadline  
International residential students Monday, April 23
Domestic residential students Monday, May 6
Commuting and online students Monday, May 6
Late application period begins
Domestic residential, commuting, and online students may apply (Domestic students may continue to apply pending space in the program)
Tuesday, May 7
Financial aid application available
See program cost for financial aid eligibility requirements
Mid-December
Financial aid application deadline Friday, February 1, noon
Financial aid award decisions Wednesday, February 20, 5pm

Important Dates for Admitted Students

Course registration opens
Register early for best choice of courses
Monday, March 4
Course registration deadline for financial aid recipients
Your award will be rescinded if you are not registered for courses by this date
Friday, March 15, 5pm
I-20 certificate requirements deadline for international students
You must complete the I-20 certificate requirements to live on campus
Monday, May 6
Course registration and full payment deadline 
Students who have not registered for courses, paid in full, and (if living on campus) submitted a housing request are withdrawn from the program
Monday, May 20
Housing Deadlines:  
Last day to complete housing request Monday, May 20
Housing cancellation deadline for full refund Monday, May 20
Housing cancellation deadline for refund less the $1,260 fee Wednesday, June 26
Housing cancellation for prorated board refund only after Wednesday, June 26
Accessibility services request deadline Monday, May 20
Immunization requirement deadline  Friday, May 24
ID card photo upload deadline Friday, May 24
Memorial Day
Offices closed
Monday, May 27
Opening Weekend
Residence buildings open; resident students move in; all students check in
Saturday, June 22–Sunday, June 23
Orientation meetings for residential and commuting students Sunday, June 23
Classes begin
Begin attending classes or participating online.
Monday, June 24
Course changes deadline 
Secondary School Program approval required after Friday, June 21
Wednesday, June 26
Health insurance waiver deadline Wednesday, June 26
Course drop and withdrawal deadlines:  
Last day to drop courses for 100% tuition refund Wednesday, June 26
Last day to drop courses for 50% tuition refund Wednesday, July 3
Last day to withdraw from courses for no tuition refund
Course on record with WD (withdrawal) grade
Friday, July 26
Independence Day
No classes; offices closed
Thursday, July 4
Final exams 
Classes may continue to meet during the exam period
Monday, August 5–Friday, August 9
Summer School ends 
You may leave campus after your last academic commitment (class, assignment, or exam)
Friday, August 9
Residence buildings close at noon Saturday, August 10
Grades available online Tuesday, August 20
Last day to make up EXT grades
Instructor may set earlier due date
Friday, September 6

All deadlines are the dates by which materials must be submitted online or received at 51 Brattle Street.


Harvard Summer School offices at 51 Brattle Street are open Monday through Friday, 9 am to 5 pm eastern time. Enrollment Services and the Registrar’s Office are open 9 am to 6 pm eastern time on Monday, June 24, through Wednesday, June 26.

Have a question?

Our Enrollment Services team is here to help.

Request Information