Harvard.edu

Calendar for the Secondary School Program

June 18–August 6, 2016

The dates in this calendar apply to Secondary School Program applicants and admitted students.

Application period begins
With a $50 nonrefundable application fee
Early December
Admission period begins Early January
Course registration begins for admitted students
Requires payment of $200 refundable deposit; register early for best choice of courses.
Tuesday, March 1
Housing request period begins for admitted residential students
Request housing online. Housing is limited and available on a first-come, first-served basis to eligible students.
Tuesday, March 1
International students:  
     Last day to complete the Secondary School Program application Monday, April 18

     Last day to complete the I-20 certificate requirements
    You must complete the I-20 certificate requirements to live on campus.

Monday, May 2
Financial aid applicants (US citizens and permanent residents only):  
     Financial aid application period begins mid-December
     Financial aid and SSP applications must be completed by Monday, February 1
     Financial aid scholarships awarded on
    Students awarded financial aid must register for courses and request housing by March 15.
Monday, February 22
     Late financial aid applications accepted until
     Aid will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis as long as funds remain available
Friday, April 1
     Late financial aid scholarships awarded on Friday, April 22

Application period ends
Last day to complete the SSP application​. International students and students applying for financial aid see earlier deadlines above.

 
      For residential students Monday, May 9
      For commuter and online students Wednesday, June 1
Course registration and full payment deadline
Admission period ends. Students who have not registered for classes, paid in full, and (if living on campus) submitted a housing request are withdrawn from the program.
Monday, May 16
Housing deadlines:  
     Last day to complete housing request (pending availability) Monday, May 16
     Housing cancellation deadline for full refund Monday, May 16
     Last day to cancel housing for refund less the $1,180 fee Wednesday, June 22
     Housing cancellation for prorated board refund only after Wednesday, June 22
Accessibility services request deadline Monday, May 16
Immunization requirement deadline  Friday, May 20
ID card photo upload deadline Friday, May 20
Memorial Day
Offices closed
Monday, May 30
Opening Weekend
Residence buildings open; resident students move in; all students check in.
Saturday, June 18–Sunday, June 19
Orientation meetings for residential and commuting students Sunday, June 19
Classes begin
Begin attending classes (or participate online if admitted as an online student).
Monday, June 20
Course changes deadline
Requires Secondary School Program approval after Friday, June 17
Wednesday, June 22
Health insurance waiver deadline Wednesday, June 22
Course drop and withdrawal deadlines:  
     Last day to drop courses for 100% tuition refund Wednesday, June 22
     Last day to drop courses for 50% tuition refund Wednesday, June 29
     Last day to withdraw from courses for no tuition refund
     Course on record with WD (withdrawal) grade
Friday, July 22
Independence Day
No classes; offices closed
Monday, July 4
Final exams
Classes may continue to meet during the exam period.
Monday, August 1–Friday, August 5
Summer School ends
You may leave campus after your last academic commitment (class, assignment, or exam).
Friday, August 5
Residence buildings close at noon Saturday, August 6
Grades available online Tuesday, August 16
Last day to make up EXT grades
Instructor may set earlier due date.
Friday, September 2

All deadlines are the dates by which materials must be submitted online or received at 51 Brattle Street.

Harvard Summer School offices at 51 Brattle Street are open Monday through Friday, 9 am to 5 pm Eastern time. Enrollment Services and the Registrar’s Office are open 9 am to 6 pm Eastern time on Monday, June 20, through Wednesday, June 22.

Apply Now

We are now accepting applications.

Get Started

Have a question?

Our Enrollment Services team is here to help.

Request Information