Calendar

Secondary School Program (SSP)

June 20–August 8, 2015

The dates in this calendar apply to Secondary School Program applicants and admitted students.

Application period begins
With a $50 nonrefundable application fee
Monday, December 15
Admission period begins mid-January
Course registration begins for admitted students
Requires payment of $200 deposit; register early for best choice of courses
Monday, March 2
Housing request period begins for admitted residential students
Request housing online. Housing is limited and available on a first-come, first-served basis to eligible students.
Monday, March 2
International students:  
     Last day to complete the Secondary School Program      application
     Once admitted, you must complete the I-20 certificate      requirements to live on campus.
Monday, April 13
     Last day to complete I-20 certificate requirements Monday, May 4
Domestic students (US citizens and permanent residents):  
     If applying for financial aid, last day to complete the SSP
     application
Monday, March 23
     Financial aid application must be completed by Monday, March 23
     SSP financial aid scholarship awarded by Monday, April 13
     If not applying for financial aid, last day to complete the SSP application Monday, May 4
Course registration and full payment deadline
Admission period ends. Students who have not registered for classes, paid in full, and (if living on campus) submitted a housing request are withdrawn from the program.
Monday, May 18
Housing deadlines:  
     Last day to complete housing request (pending availability) Monday, May 18
     Housing cancellation deadline for full refund Monday, May 18
     Last day to cancel housing for refund less the $1,160 fee Wednesday, June 24
     Housing cancellation for prorated board refund only after Wednesday, June 24
Disability services request deadline Monday, May 18
Immunization requirement deadline
If you are living on campus or attending Summer School while on any kind of visa
Friday, May 22
ID card photo upload deadline Friday, May 22
Memorial Day
Offices closed
Monday, May 25
Opening Weekend
Residence buildings open; resident students move in; all students check in
Saturday, June 20–Sunday, June 21
Orientation meetings for residential and commuting students Sunday, June 21
Classes begin
Begin attending classes on this date (or participate in distance classes if admitted as a distance student).
Monday, June 22
Course changes deadline
Requires Secondary School Program approval after Friday, June 19
Wednesday, June 24
Health insurance waiver deadline Wednesday, June 24
Course drop and withdrawal deadlines:  
     Last day to drop courses for 100% refund Wednesday, June 24
     Last day to drop courses for 50% refund Wednesday, July 1
     Last day to withdraw from courses for no tuition refund
     Course on record with WD (withdrawal) grade
Thursday, July 23
Independence Day observed
No classes; offices closed
Friday, July 3
Final exams
Classes may continue to meet during the exam period.
Monday, August 3–Friday, August 7
Summer School ends
You may leave campus after your last academic commitment (class, assignment, or exam).
Friday, August 7
Residence buildings close at noon Saturday, August 8
Grades available online Wednesday, August 19
Last day to make up EXT grades
Instructor may set earlier due date
Friday, September 4

All deadlines are the dates by which materials must be submitted online or received at 51 Brattle Street.

Harvard Summer School offices at 51 Brattle Street are open Monday through Friday, 9 am to 5 pm Eastern time. Enrollment Services and the Registrar’s Office are open 9 am to 6 pm Eastern time on Monday, June 22, through Wednesday, June 24.