Calendar for the Secondary School Program

Stay on top of important application and registration dates for the Secondary School Program. Visit the Admissions and Program Cost pages for more detailed information about application, financial aid, and registration policies.

Program dates: June 23 to August 11

Important Dates for Applicants

All times are eastern time.

Online application available
See admissions for required application materials.

mid-December
Financial aid application available
See program cost for financial aid eligibility requirements.
mid-December

Financial aid application deadline

Thursday, February 1, 5 pm

Financial aid award decisions

Tuesday, February 20, 5 pm

Late financial aid application deadline Monday, April 2 or until funds are no longer available
Late financial aid award decisions Monday, April 23

Application deadline:

 
     Financial aid applicants Thursday, February 1
     International residential students Monday, April 23
     Domestic residential students Monday, May 21
     Commuting and online students Friday, June 15

Important Dates for Admitted Students

All times are eastern time.

Course registration opens
Requires payment of $200 refundable deposit; register early for best choice of courses.
Thursday, March 1
Course registration deadline for financial aid recipients
Your award will be rescinded if you are not registered for courses by this date.
Thursday, March 15
I-20 certificate requirements deadline for international students
You must complete the I-20 certificate requirements to live on campus.
Monday, May 7
Course registration and full payment deadline
Students who have not registered for courses, paid in full, and (if living on campus) submitted a housing request are withdrawn from the program.
Monday, May 21
Housing deadlines for admitted residential students:  
     Last day to complete housing request Monday, May 21
     Housing cancellation deadline for full refund Monday, May 21
     Housing cancellation deadline for refund less the $1,228 fee Wednesday, June 27
     Housing cancellation for prorated board refund only after Wednesday, June 27
Accessibility services request deadline Monday, May 21
Immunization requirement deadline  Friday, May 25
ID card photo upload deadline Friday, May 25
Memorial Day
Offices closed
Monday, May 28
Opening Weekend
Residence buildings open; resident students move in; all students check in.
Saturday, June 23–Sunday, June 24
Orientation meetings for residential and commuting students Sunday, June 24
Classes begin
Begin attending classes or participating online.
Monday, June 25
Course changes deadline
Secondary School Program approval required after Friday, June 22.
Wednesday, June 27
Health insurance waiver deadline Wednesday, June 27
Course drop and withdrawal deadlines:  
     Last day to drop courses for 100% tuition refund Wednesday, June 27
     Last day to drop courses for 50% tuition refund Tuesday, July 3
     Last day to withdraw from courses for no tuition refund
     Course on record with WD (withdrawal) grade
Friday, July 27
Independence Day
No classes; offices closed
Wednesday, July 4
Final exams
Classes may continue to meet during the exam period.
Monday, August 6–Friday, August 10
Summer School ends
You may leave campus after your last academic commitment (class, assignment, or exam).
Friday, August 10
Residence buildings close at noon Saturday, August 11
Grades available online Tuesday, August 21
Last day to make up EXT grades
Instructor may set earlier due date.
Friday, September 7

All deadlines are the dates by which materials must be submitted online or received at 51 Brattle Street.

Harvard Summer School offices at 51 Brattle Street are open Monday through Friday, 9 am to 5 pm eastern time. Enrollment Services and the Registrar’s Office are open 9 am to 6 pm eastern time on Monday, June 25, through Wednesday, June 27.

Apply Now

The Secondary School Program application is now open.

Get Started

Have a question?

Our Enrollment Services team is here to help.

Request Information